Yicai Annual Financial Book Awards 2016 -- the Winners
Yicai Global
/SOURCE : Yicai
Yicai Annual Financial Book Awards 2016 -- the Winners

Yicai Annual Financial Book Awards has been organized over the last eight years. Each year, high-quality, well-grounded Chinese and English financial publications offering unique insights were selected based on the principle of 'Global Vision and Professionalism.'

The main theme of the 2016 awards was 'Reconstruction and Re-regulation.' Some 31 financial publications received awards in seven categories.

(Some of award-winning publications in 2016)


13 books won the 'Best Chinese Financial Books of the Year' award:


(A New Theory of Protracted War: China's Growth Strategy Under the New Normal)

Authors: Zhao Changwen, Zhu Hongming

(Transcendence Through Innovation: Large Commercial Bank Reforms and Transformation Under the New Normal)

Author: Niu Ximing

(Introducing Supply-Side Reforms)

Authors: Wu Jinglian, Li Yining, Zheng Yongnian et al.


(An Exploration of Chinese Economic System Reforms Under the New Normal)

Editor: Cai Fang


(Nature of Exchange Rate)

Author: Guan Tao


(Money, Interest Rate and Policy Transition)

Authors: Wu Ge, Li Bin


(A Financial Diary: Notes Taken by Yang Kaisheng Over 16 Years)

Author: Yang Kaisheng


(An Analysis of Public-Private Partnership (PPP) From the Perspective of Institutional Economics)

Authors: Cao Yuanzheng, Fu Xiaojian


(The Chinese Economy: Observations and Expostulations)

Author: Xia Bin


(Chinese Economic Growth Outlook for the Next Decade: A Shift in the Race From Quantity to Quality)

Editor: Liu Shijin


(Routledge Handbook of the Chinese Economy)

Editors: Zou Zhizhuang, Dwight Perkins 


(The Last Barrier)

Author: Yu Yongding


(Foreign Financial System Series)

Editors: He Jianxiong, Wei Gejun


Seven books won the 'Best Bilingual Financial Books of the Year' award:

Commodity Price Volatility and Inclusive Growth in Low-Income Countries

Compiler: Zhu Min

'Internet Plus' Pathways to the Transformation of China's Property Sector

Authors: Ba Shusong, Yang Xianling

The End of Alchemy: Money, Banking, and the Future of the Global Economy

Author: Mervyn King

Blockchain Revolution: How the Technology Behind Bitcoin Is Changing Money, Business and the World

Authors: Don Tapscott, Alex Tapscott

Bretton Woods: The Next 70 Years

Compiler: Marc Uzan

The Courage to Act: A Memoir of a Crisis and Its Aftermath

Author: Ben S. Bernanke

Balancing the Banks: Global Lessons From the Financial Crisis

Authors: Mathias Dewatripont, Jean-Charles Rochet, Jean Tirole


Three books won the 'Best English Financial Books of the Year' award:

Gaining Currency: The Rise of the Renminbi

Author: Eswar S. Prasad

The Curse of Cash

Author: Kenneth S. Rogoff

The Only Game in Town: Central Banks, Instability, and Avoiding the Next Collapse

Author: Mohamed A. El-Erian


Three books won the 'Best Financial Reprints of the Year' award: 

The Elusive Quest for Growth: Economists' Adventures and Misadventures in the Tropics

Author: William R. Easterly

Chinese Economic Performance in the Long Run: 960-2030 AD

Author: Angus Maddison

Central Bank and Money Supply (Second Edition)

Authors: Sheng Songcheng, Zhai Chun

Three books won the 'Bestsellers of the Year' award:

Plumbers and Visionaries: Securities Settlement and Europe's Financial Market

Author: Peter Norman

Sapiens: A Brief History of Humankind

Author: Yuval Harari

中国绿色金融发展与案例研究 (Development of Green Finance in China and Case Studies)

Author: Ma Jun


In commemoration of Ambassador Wu Jianmin who passed away in June 2016, the Special Annual Award was given for his book《如何做大国:世界秩序与中国角色》 (How to Become a World Power: World Order and China's Role). 

This year, the 'Best Light Reading of the Year' award was added to the Yicai Annual Financial Book Awards and went to 《寻找经济小糖人:经济世界的音乐之旅》 (A Search for the Sugar Figurine in Economics: A Music Journey in the Economic World). 

The authors shared their insights at the awards ceremony through live or video presentations. Award-winning authors present at the ceremony included: Zhu Min, former deputy managing director at the International Monetary Fund; Cai Fang, vice president of Chinese Academy of Social Sciences (CASS); Liu Shijin, former deputy director of the Development Research Center of the State Council; Yu Yongding, analyst at CASS Institute of World Economics and Politics; Yang Kaisheng, former president of the Industrial and Commercial Bank of China; Cao Yuanzheng, chairman of BOCI Research; Guan Tao, senior fellow at China Finance 40 Forum; Zhao Changwen, director-general of the Research Department of Industrial Economy at the Development Research Center of the State Council; Sheng Songcheng, director of the Survey and Statistics Department at the People's Bank of China; Ma Jun, chief economist of the Research Bureau of the People's Bank of China; Ba Shusong, chief economist at Hong Kong Stock Exchange; Wu Rong, chief economist at Huarong Securities; Wang Yu, deputy director at the Research Bureau of the People's Bank of China; Cheng Shi, director of ICBC International Research and Wei Gejun, president of China Financial Publishing House.

State Counselor Xia Bin and Niu Ximing, chairman of the Bank of Communications, were unable to attend the ceremony and communicated with the audience through video presentations.

Xu Shanda, director at SEEC Research Institute; Zheng Jingping, chief economist of the National Bureau of Statistics; Li Jun, chief supervisor of the Bank of China; Zhou Qiangwu, executive director-general of the Asia-Pacific Finance and Development Center at the Ministry of Finance; Zhou Chengjun, deputy head of the Monetary Policy Department (No. 2) at the People's Bank of China; Li Zhengqiang, chairman of Dalian Commodity Exchange and think-tank member Ding Yifan were also present at the event and participated in discussions. 

Foreign authors including Mark Uzan, CEO and founder of the New Bretton Woods System Committee; Allianz Group Advisor Muhammad Erian; Kenneth Rogoff, economics professor at Harvard University; Barry Eichengreen, professor at University of California, Berkeley; William Eastley, economics professor at New York University; Esval Prasad, professor at Cornell University; chartered financial analyst and venture investor Alex Tapscott and celebrated historian Juval Hale also shared their writing experiences and opinions with the participants through video presentations. 


About Yicai

Yicai was founded in July 2003 as the financial media arm of Shanghai Media Group (SMG), China's second-largest media organization. 

Yicai has established itself as the largest financial media group with the most comprehensive business coverage in China, covering 'omnimedia' and innovative information services. It operates a diverse range of business modules including Yicai TV, China Business News (newspaper), CBN Weekly and Yicai Research Institute (think tank). 

Yicai's mission is to create the most influential and competitive innovative digital financial media and information service group in the world.


About Yicai Research Institute

Yicai Research Institute is committed to 'Improving Economic Policy' as a non-profit independent think tank affiliated to Yicai.

Operating with a global vision, it seeks to offer innovative and actionable policy plans and suggestions through independent data-based research and analysis, aiming to enhance the quality and transparency of economic policies in China, as well as improve the effectiveness and impartiality of global economic and financial governance. As a leading global and Chinese intellectual resource integrator and a think tank with strong media influence, Yicai Research Institute has developed products such as annual flagship research reports, study programs, macroeconomic studies, industry and market research, indexes and rankings.

Follow Yicai Global on