World Laureates Association Unveils This Year's WLA Prize Winners
Qian Tongxin
DATE:  Sep 14 2023
/ SOURCE:  Yicai
World Laureates Association Unveils This Year's WLA Prize Winners World Laureates Association Unveils This Year's WLA Prize Winners

(Yicai) Sept. 14 -- The World Laureates Association has unveiled the five winners for the two categories of the 2023 WLA Prize.

Arkadi Nemirovski, John P. Hunter, junior chair professor at the H. Milton Stewart School of Industrial and Systems Engineering at Georgia Institute of Technology, and Yurii Nesterov, professor emeritus and senior scientific researcher at the Center for Operations Research & Econometrics and Mathematical Engineering Department at the Université Catholique de Louvain, will receive the 2023 WLA Prize in Computer Science or Mathematics "for their seminal work in convex optimization theory, including the theory of self-concordant functions and interior-point methods, a complexity theory of optimization, accelerated gradient methods, and methodological advances in robust optimization."

Founded in 2021 by the WLA and managed by the WLA Foundation, the WLA Prize aims to recognize and support eminent researchers and technologists worldwide for their contributions to science and global science and technology advancement, address the challenges to humanity, and promote society's long-term progress. The winner of each category, which may be divided among up to four laureates, is CNY10 million (USD1.4 million).

"Optimization theory is arguably the area of mathematics that has had the most significant impact outside of mathematics over the past three decades," said Michael I. Jordan, chair of the 2023 WLA Prize Selection Committee in Computer Science or Mathematics. "It has found major applications in fields such as control systems, economics, signal processing, machine learning, resource allocation, energy management, supply chain management, and finance."

Daniela Rhodes, emeritus group leader at the MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology in Cambridge, Karolin Luger, professor and Jennie Smoly Caruthers endowed chair of biochemistry at the University of Colorado Boulder, and Timothy J. Richmond, professor of crystallography of Biological Macromolecules (Emeritus) at ETH Zürich, will receive the 2023 WLA Prize in Life Science or Medicine "for elucidating the structure of the nucleosome at the atomic level, providing the basis for understanding chromatin, gene regulation, and epigenetics."

The 2023 WLA Prize's awarding ceremony will be held at the sixth World Laureates Forum's opening ceremony on Nov. 6. The five winners will come to Shanghai in person to receive the awards and attend a series of winner events during the forum.

Editors: Tang Shihua, Futura Costaglione

Follow Yicai Global on
Keywords:   2023 World Laureates Association Prize,Scientific Achievement Award,R&D,Computer Science or Mathematics,Life Science or Medicine